Medicare Plans

Medicare was enacted by Congress in 1965 and is a federally-sponsored health insurance program for people age 65 and older; people younger than 65 with a disability; people diagnosed with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), also known as Lou Gehrig’s disease; and those with end-stage renal disease (ESRD). Medicare has four parts provides coverage for hospital care (Part A), medical services (Part B) and prescription drugs (Part D). Medicare (Part C), also known as Medicare Advantage, offers beneficiaries the option of receiving their Medicare benefits through private health plans, and is available in many areas. Medicare beneficiaries can choose to receive all of their health care services through one of these provider organizations (private health insurance plans) under Medicare Part C. Part C plans typically are a combination of Part A, Part B, and sometimes Part D coverage (Pharmacy/Prescription Drug coverage), but must cover medically necessary services. These plans have discretion to assign their own copays, deductibles and coinsurance.

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services is the agency in charge of the Medicare program. Individuals who are eligible for Medicare apply for Medicare through the U.S. Social Security Administration.

You can get more detailed information about what Medicare covers from Medicare & You (Publication No. CMS-10050). To get a copy, call the Medicare toll-free number, 1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227), or go to If you are deaf or hard of hearing, you may call TTY 1-877-486-2048.

Hammitt Benefits Group can assist you in understanding the different Medicare plans:

  1. Hospital insurance (Part A)
  2. Medical insurance (Part B)
  3. Medicare Advantage (Part C) plans
  4. Prescription drug coverage (Part D)

Please contact us today for more information regarding eligibility and enrollment requirements, plan options, or coordinating Medicare with your employer-sponsored group health plan.

Skip to content